Saris Solo rear bike rack - Ford Ecosport Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 13-06-19, 07:30 AM Thread Starter

Saris Solo rear bike rack

Hello,
I'm new to the EcoSport (2016 model), liking the car so far.

Has anyone here used a Saris Solo rear bike rack with their EcoSport? https://www.saris.com/product/solo

Saris' website says the rack is compatible with the 2018 model but not the 2013-17 models. I can't see any difference except the optional spare wheel, which my car does not have.

Is anyone using this rack on a 2016 EcoSport? Is it ok clipping the mounting straps over the spoiler?

Thanks in anticipation.
Andy
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 13-06-19, 05:46 PM

Garage
Hi Andys, welcome to the forum. Most of us just fit two bikes on the roof rails with cross bars.

Here's a few previous threads, the spare wheel being in the way has always been a problem, but as you do not have the spare, it should be easy enough to find one......

https://www.ecosportownersclub.co.uk...594-bikes.html

https://www.ecosportownersclub.co.uk...ack-rails.html

You could investigate the webpages of these images of Ecosport rear door racks.
https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=ec...w=1024&bih=637
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 19-06-19, 02:24 PM Thread Starter

Thank you Colin. I did see those threads but was hoping someone had used the rack in question. I don't want roof bars as I want to use it for commuting, and lifting the bike up and down twice a day does not appeal.

Anyway it seems that in general there is no reason for the rack to be incompatible so I'll give it a go.

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 22-06-19, 09:52 AM

Garage
Put as picture up if it works, as its a question that has been unanswered on this forum.
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 29-06-19, 07:14 PM Thread Starter

It works

Ok, so I got one, and it does fit.
I've attached three pictures - the rack with no bike, with a bike and the view from inside.